Finally, the dreaded moment arrived. Netflix announced last October that as of 2023 all shared accounts would be blocked, through a verification process, so that any simultaneous use of profiles in different homes would be charged in addition to the service contracting package.
The measure of blocking accounts and added charges was previously implemented by the streaming service in Latin American countries, such as Chile and Peru, where as of March 2022, users were notified about the implementation of three new package classifications: standard basic, basic with ads and premium.
You will no longer be able to share Netflix accounts
By updating its policies, Netflix announced that in Mexico there will no longer be the possibility of resorting to shared payment of bills, nor of simultaneous reproduction of content in different homes. The streaming giant has specified, through the information section on the platform, details about how it will corroborate the authenticity of the accounts and their belonging to the same household.
Netflix makes it clear that only residents of the main location associated with the account will be able to access it and that this verification will be possible through the registration of the WiFi address from which the content is loaded. Likewise, the service clarifies that the main IP address of the account will be verified periodically to keep user sessions active, otherwise it will block other people’s devices.
Netflix will block shared accounts
The section about the sharing of your Netflix account, placed on the platform, highlights the prohibition of using the account of someone who does not live with you, clarifying that people who are not part of your household must create their respective monitoring profile and assume their own charges. Netflix points out that, as part of the identity verification process, any device associated with the account must log in by connecting to the WiFi network registered at the home and play a title from the catalog at least once every 31 days.
If you do not comply with the periodic login conditions, either from the website or the application, Netflix will block the account. Those who fear an automatic charge for having a shared Netflix account, The platform clarifies that no charge will be made without prior authorization or change of plan in the service.
The implementation of the end of shared accounts will take place between March and April of this year and will continue to allow the transfer of profiles between accounts and the expulsion of unrecognized devices by the owner users. In this way, if you share your account, it is likely that in the coming days you will see a warning message inviting you to hire your own service.
Get the latest news in your email
Everything you need to know to start your day
Registering implies accepting the Terms and Conditions
Leave a Reply