May 15, 2021, someone has surely marked this date in red on the calendar. After postponements and other updates in the middle, today the ToS on WhatsApp changes with important privacy news: either you accept them or you are out of service.
WhatsApp, what changes from today
Changes to the WhatsApp Terms of Service do not affect in any way chats and personal calls: Facebook could not and still will not be able to read messages or listen to calls as they are end to end encrypted. The news only concerns the management of chats between business and business or between business and customer.
“Our commitment to respecting your privacy hasn’t changed. Your personal conversations continue to be protected by end-to-end encryption and remain between you and your interlocutors. Neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can listen to or read its content. “
“Neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can see the content you share with friends and family, including personal messages and calls, attachments you send or the location you share. We do not track who you call or message, nor do we share your contacts with Facebook. “
The introduction of these changes shouldn’t surprise us to be honest. These are the same changes that you announced in January and initially planned for February, but created a huge wave of panic among users.
“Every day, millions of people use WhatsApp to communicate with businesses, large or small. You can send messages to companies to ask for information or make purchases. You choose whether to interact with a company on WhatsApp. You can also block or delete her from your contact list at any time.
Large companies, such as airlines or retailers, may receive thousands of messages from customers at the same time, requesting information about flights or the shipment of their orders. In order to respond to everyone quickly, these companies could use Facebook as a technology service provider to manage some responses on their behalf. We clearly label chats, so you always know when this happens. “
Nothing to worry about then. In order not to be affected by the changes, just do not get in touch with account business even if more and more companies offer bots and support via WhatsApp, for example Vodafone with TOBi.
We also don’t have to be afraid of being exposed to spam by companies we don’t want to deal with: WhatsApp does not provide phone numbers to business partners and prohibits companies from contacting us without first receiving our consent.
«WhatsApp does not give your number to companies. Additionally, our regulations prohibit companies from contacting you on WhatsApp without first receiving your consent.
Our additional privacy features, such as the ability to set ephemeral messages or control who can add you to groups, offer an additional level of security for your privacy. “
What happens if I don’t accept the new WhatsApp ToS
Today WhatsApp has not deleted any profiles, but continues to remind users to accept the new terms of service in order to take advantage of the application and its web version available from web.whatsapp.com
After a few weeks, those who still have not accepted the new ToS of the known messaging application will see that notification persistently, until the new contract is accepted. After another weeks it will become impossible to access the chat list and the possibility of answering calls or video calls, both personal and group, will not be granted.
Finally, for those who still do not give up, it will become impossible to reply to messages and notifications will no longer be sent when there are new messages arriving.
When will my account be deleted if I don’t accept the new ToS?
WhatsApp and Facebook they will not delete your account if you don’t agree to the new terms of service, however the above limitations will apply. However, failure to accept the ToS does not allow us to escape from deletion due to inactivity: after 120 consecutive days without accessing the application, our account will be automatically deleted. Deleting a WhatsApp account involves:
- delete the message history
- delete backups on Google Drive and / or iCloud
- automatic abandonment of all groups
- delete profile picture, name and profile info
The deletion of an account by WhatsApp is irreversible: if we want to return to the service we would have to register again, with the same number or with a different one, in both cases without any possibility of recovering the lost data.